A good place

IMG_4193

Today I dug out my  my original Alice drawings – along with some other Fairy Tale friends. I’m putting them back up for Open House.

I love these drawings as, for me, they represent me finding my feet. Which is funny, because the reason I did them was because I had my leg in plaster after an operation on my right ankle, and for six weeks could only shuffle about on my bottom (can’t do crutches) so sat on the floor like a child with marker pens and lining paper and my granny’s squeezed out old watercolours, and just drew, and giggled. I didn’t have to be anywhere cos I couldn’t get anywhere, and despite mobility problems (which I knew were only temporary and then I’d be better than I had been before) I felt truly free. A good place.

Come and see the drawings at my Open House, which starts this weekend, Saturday 20th October, 11am to 5pm.  House No.27 on the Whitstable Trail

 

Leave a comment